The Case(s) Against Dave Ramsey: Part 4

Melissa J. Hogan
12 min readAug 20, 2022

This is part 4 in an ongoing saga about secrets and lies, hypocrisy, and the use of faith to manipulate and abuse people. There is also a consistent theme of using legal tactics to keep things in the dark. The updates below, however, especially in the O’Connor case, show light penetrating the dark.

Catch up by first reading Part 1, Part 2, and Part 3.

In all fairness, first I’ll be clear about my own biases. I love Jesus and I love people. And because I do, it makes me especially care about these issues. But we don’t have to agree on our religious beliefs for you to keep reading or to find these concerns compelling. In addition, I am the former spouse of a Ramsey employee who is a party in one case below and a third party comparator in another case, Chris Hogan. But those life experiences, as well as my expertise as an attorney for almost 25 years and a former federal appellate clerk, gives me some unique insights here that I hope readers find helpful.

Excerpt from an article in the Tennessean, dated January 19, 2022, and a photo
An excerpt from an article appearing in the Tennessean on January 19, 2022 titled, “More former Ramsey Solutions employees are speaking out. Here’s why.”

The above article can give you some background about why I’m speaking out. But as I mentioned in a different medium article on why I’m writing about these cases — these summaries are as much for me as they are for you. People who have previously been threatened or intimidated or silenced by Dave and the company are finally speaking up and speaking truth about things that have…

--

--

Melissa J. Hogan

Attorney. Advocate. Author, “Afraid of the Doctor: Every Parent’s Guide to Preventing and Managing Medical Trauma.” Find me at melissajhogan.com